Your Cookies are Disabled! NationalNotary.org sets cookies on your computer to help improve performance and provide a more engaging user experience. By using this site, you accept the terms of our cookie policy. Learn more.

Feature

A Guide to Notary travel fees across the United States

Updated 8-15-22.

Notaries frequently ask if they can charge signers an additional travel fee during mobile Notary assignments. The answer is that each state is different: Some say yes and fix travel fees; some allow it and only provide broad guidelines for the fee, and others provide no guidance at all.

This article offers Notaries a guide to each state's Notary travel fee rules and guidelines, grouped into 5 general categories. We'll look at how travel fees work for states in each category and provide you with helpful tips. The categories are:


    States that set travel fees

    There are 6 states and the District of Columbia that set the fees Notaries may charge to travel: Connecticut, Idaho, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, and Virginia. In these states, the maximum amount for travel is set by state law.

    States and districts that set Notary travel fees

    • Connecticut
    • District of Columbia*
    • Idaho*
    • Nevada
    • New Hampshire
    • New Mexico
    • Virginia*

    *DC, Idaho and Virginia allow Notaries to charge a travel fee that does not exceed the Notary's actual travel expenses.

    Connecticut and New Hampshire are the most straightforward. Connecticut allows Notaries to charge 35 cents per mile for travel, and New Hampshire 20 cents per mile, but the rate only applies when a Notary travels to swear witnesses for a deposition (RSA 455:11; 517:19).

    Though the District of Columbia, Idaho, and Virginia do not set an actual fee, their laws only allow Notaries to charge the actual and reasonable expense of travel (CDC 1-1231.23[b], IC 51-133[2], and COV 47.1-19[D]). For example, if a Notary in one of these jurisdictions spent $5 total on fuel or other travel expenses while traveling to a notarization, the Notary cannot charge the signer more than that amount for a travel fee.

    New Mexico sets a travel fee of 30 cents per mile, but also requires Notaries to inform their customers in advance that the fee will apply; that travel fee is in addition to the notarization fee, and that the Notary is not required by law to charge the travel fee. Effective January 1, 2022, the 30 cents per mile maximum fee will be repealed and Notaries will be able to set their own travel fee.

    Nevada's laws are the most unique, specific, and complicated. The Notary and signer must agree on the hourly rate of travel in advance. The Notary must explain that the travel fee is separate from notarization fee and not required by law. These requirements mirror requirements of other states and are clear and easy to understand.

    However, the maximum hourly rate is where things become more complicated. Nevada Notaries may not charge more than the following hourly rates, and the rate depends on the time of day they travel:

    • The travel fee may not exceed $15 for travel between 6 a.m. and 7 p.m. ($10 per hour for an electronic notarization) or $30 per hour for travel between 7 p.m. and 6 a.m. ($25 per hour for an electronic notarization).
    • Notaries may charge a minimum of 2 hours for such travel and must charge on a pro rata basis after the first 2 hours (NRS 240.100[3][d]).

    Nevada law also prescribes the following rules related to charging travel fees:

    • Travel fees must be recorded in the journal, along with the date and time Notary began and ended the travel (NRS 240.100[5]).
    • The Notary may demand that the travel fee be payable in advance (NRS 240.100[2]).
    • The Notary is entitled to the additional travel fee if the person requesting the notarial act cancels the request after the Notary begins to travel, or the Notary is unable to perform the notarial act as a result of the actions of the person who requested it or any other person who is necessary for the performance of the notarial act (NRS 240.100[4]).

    States that base travel fees on federal or state mileage rates

    9 states base the travel fee on mileage rates set by state or federal agencies. Unlike states that set their own fees, these mileage rates can change from year to year when the rate for travel increases or decreases. Notaries in these states should always confirm the current authorized mileage rate before charging a travel fee.

    States with federal or state mileage rates

    • Arizona
    • Indiana
    • Maryland
    • Montana
    • Nebraska
    • Rhode Island
    • Utah
    • Wyoming
    • North Carolina

    In Arizona and Nebraska, travel fees are based on state mileage rates. For the latest authorized mileage rate in Arizona, check the fee schedule online. The Nebraska mileage rate, which applies only to serving notices of protest and not to other notarial acts, is set by the State Department of Administrative Services (433 NAC 6.008.04[F]), which according to state Notary officials is currently 51 cents per mile.

    Indiana, Maryland, Montana, North CarolinaRhode Island, Utah and Wyoming allow Notaries to charge federal mileage rates.

    In Indiana, the travel fee "may not exceed the federal travel fees established by the United States General Services Administration" (IC 33-42-14-1[e]). Maryland indexes the travel fee to the Internal Revenue Service per mile rate for business travel plus an additional $5 (ACM St. Gov't 18-107[b][1]) (COMAR 01.02.08.02D). Montana, Rhode Island, and Wyoming also set their travel fee to the Internal Revenue Service per mile rate. Utah is the least specific, stating it must be set at the "federal mileage rate" (UCA 46-1-12[2]).

    Montana, Utah and Wyoming also require Notaries to inform customers about travel fees in advance and clarify they are separate from the regular notarization fee. North Carolina requires the customer to agree to the travel fee in writing prior to the travel (GS 10B-31(5)).

    States with travel fee guidelines

    13 states do not set the amount of travel fees but provide general guidelines for Notaries to follow when charging a travel fee. These states are: Arkansas, California, Georgia, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina and Washington.

    States with general guidelines

    • Arkansas
    • California
    • Georgia
    • Michigan
    • Minnesota
    • Mississippi
    • Missouri
    • North Dakota
    • Ohio
    • Oregon
    • Pennsylvania
    • South Carolina
    • Washington

    In these states, the amount of a travel fee is not specified, but Notaries must follow any guidelines issued by the state. These guidelines usually are published in state Notary handbooks or online. For example, most of these states (California and Minnesota are exceptions) require the travel fee to be agreed upon with the signer prior to travel. Arkansas Notaries are required to disclose any fee they charge (including a travel fee) with the signer prior to travel commencing. The Minnesota Department of Commerce has posted an advisory that Notaries who charge travel fees may be required to obtain a real estate closing license. In California, the Secretary of State has said, "Other fees, such as travel fees and/or loan signing fees should not be included as fees charged for the notarial service. You may note other fees charged in the additional information portion of your journal" (Notary News, 2020). Pennsylvania Notaries may charge customary and reasonable "clerical or administrative fees" for notarizations, including travel, according to the Pennsylvania Department of State website. Notaries should inform customers of the fee in advance and note the fee separately in their journal.

    Mississippi, Missouri, North Dakota, Oregon, South Carolina, and Washington also require Notaries to inform the signer that the travel fee is not mandated by law.

    States that allow Notaries to set their own travel fees

    The following states permit Notaries to set their own travel fees or do not regulate Notary or travel fees:

    States that allow Notaries to set their own travel fees

    • Alabama
    • Alaska
    • Colorado
    • Delaware
    • Florida
    • Hawaii
    • Illinois
    • Iowa
    • Kansas
    • Kentucky
    • Louisiana
    • Maine
    • Massachusetts
    • New Jersey
    • New York
    • Oklahoma
    • South Dakota
    • Tennessee
    • Texas
    • Vermont
    • West Virginia
    • Wisconsin

    Many of these states recommend that Notaries set "reasonable" fees.

    If your state does not provide travel fee rules or guidance, the NNA suggests the following five best practices:

    1. Keep travel fees separate for notarial fees.
    2. Inform the customer on the travel fee in advance.
    3. Explain your travel fee payment policy should the notarization not be completed.
    4. Request travel fee payment in advance (optional).
    5. Record the travel fee separately from the notarization fee in your journal.

    Related Articles:

    5 Tips For Notaries Charging Travel Fees



    Additional Resources:

    2022 Notary Fee Schedules By State

    2020 Notary Public Code Of Professional Responsibility
    (See Guiding Principle II-A-1, Proper and Improper Gain/Associated Charges, pg. 29 of PDF)


    14 Comments

    Add your comment

    Akbar Hasan

    29 Jul 2021

    I find The National Notary to be very informative and can lead to a very pro fital source of informartion

    Marjorie

    01 Aug 2021

    The information for the travel fee for each state is very helpful. And I was not sure that I could write in the travel fee in the additional information box, As I have a notebook that I have been writing the date of the Notary job, with the amount for Notarizing document(s) and the Travel Fee. Even if there is No Travel fee. As I do add everything up at the end of the month so that I know how much I made for the month.

    June

    11 Aug 2021

    Virginia says notaries must charge for actual travel expenses; however, I have yet to find a notary in my state who follows the law. Even when I called the NNA Hotline, they told me the law is interpreted many different ways, so there -- I couldn't get a straight answer. In addition, the VA law also says that no other fees can be charged, yet every VA notary charges some other type of fee that they call a convenience fee or printing fee. How do you explain this? Does the state of VA just ignore it? And no, the Secretary of State will not answer it either because they say they are not responsible for the laws. In other words, these state laws really mean nothing.

    karenmillerbarrett@verizon.net

    11 Aug 2021

    Helpful and very informative.

    Julia Familia Notary Public - Massachusetts

    28 Dec 2021

    Massachusetts states it’s none Wealthy be Public Notary- it’s anyone can helpful in Massachusetts.

    June

    30 Apr 2022

    Would you say that you are interpreting the state laws here? I'm in VA. What would you say is the incentive to become a mobile notary if you can only charge for your gas, according to your definition? How would a mobile notary stay in business?

    Kristen

    14 Jul 2022

    Hello! NC just passed that notaries can charge for travel.

    National Notary Association

    10 Aug 2022

    Thank you for your message. We will be updating the article in the near future to reflect the recent changes in North Carolina.

    Joell

    21 Jul 2022

    This is fantastic, I was just reestablishing mine! I came straight to your article.

    Georgia

    29 Jul 2022

    I was wondering when setting up travel fees. I can charge per mile since my state (NJ) allows me to set my own fees. My question is: "Do I use the mileage from my office to the client's location?" OR "Whatever location that I am at when I receive the request to the client's location?" Thanks.

    National Notary Association

    06 Sep 2022

    Travel fees are not regulated by New Jersey law. That being the case, if you charge per mile, where you start charging is up to you.

    Limo Services

    30 Jul 2022

    very interesting article. i will share this with my friends.

    Valerie J Cantua

    01 Aug 2022

    Can an Arizona Notary charge a "convenience fee" in "addition" to the state mileage rate and notary fee? I have searched and searched in different ways and areas but I cannot find the answer. I ask because I see some AZ mobile notary signing services that charge for convenience.

    National Notary Association

    06 Sep 2022

    Any fee for a Notarization that is above the statutory amount is not allowed in the State of Arizona. This includes “convenience fees”.

    Leave a Comment

    Required *

    All comments are reviewed and if approved, will display.

    Close