Your Cookies are Disabled! sets cookies on your computer to help improve performance and provide a more engaging user experience. By using this site, you accept the terms of our cookie policy. Learn more.

Award Programs

Notary of the Year Winners

The National Notary Association bestows prestigious awards for excellence and achievement not only on Notaries, but also on officials and other influential persons who govern or set standards for Notaries, or otherwise make significant contributions toward the improvement of the Notary office.

Notary of the Year
The Notary of the Year Award is given annually to an outstanding Notary Public who operates at a level of professionalism and ethical conduct that sets a high standard for other Notaries to emulate. In addition to excellence in the performance of notarial acts, recipients of the Notary of the Year honor are distinguished by their achievements in one or more of the following activities:

  • Community service
  • Mentorship of other Notaries
  • Working to enact needed legislation
  • Providing notarial services to the less fortunate
  • Trailblazing new technologies
  • Public speaking to promote the Notary office

To nominate a Notary of the Year candidate, please fill out and submit the Notary of the Year nomination form.

View past Notary of the Year recipients

Influencer of the Year
The Influencer of the Year is a community-driven award honoring a Notary who demonstrates excellence and creativity. Chosen by Notaries, award recipients radiate positive energy, inspiring Notaries nationwide.

To nominate an NNA Influencer of the Year candidate, please fill out and submit the Influencer of the Year nomination form.

March Fong Eu Achievement Award
The March Fong Eu Achievement Award is given annually to the individual who or organization that, in the judgment of the Association’s Executive Committee, has done the most to improve the standards, image and quality of the office of Notary Public. Previous recipients of the Award include legislators, governors, secretaries of state, attorneys general, Notary program administrators and law school deans.

Named in honor of former California Secretary of State March Fong Eu, the Award was conceived in 1979 and presented to Eu that year for her extraordinary leadership in spearheading enactment of progressive Notary reform legislation, despite opposition from powerful lobbies who preferred lower notarial standards. Today, the March Fong Eu Achievement Award goes to honorees whose efforts led to creation or implementation of a new law, program or policy with a significant beneficial impact on the Notary office.

View list of March Fong Eu Achievement Award recipients

Calvin Coolidge Notary Award
Calvin Coolidge was our 30th President and the only one yet sworn into office by a Notary Public — his father — but his importance to Notaries goes much farther than that. President Coolidge’s commitment to public service, his integrity and his impartiality to this day set a powerful example for Notaries of how a public servant must operate.

In acknowledgment of Coolidge’s example, the NNA established the Calvin Coolidge Notary Award in 2004 to honor public officials whenever and wherever their dedicated accomplishments result in a significant advancement in the professionalism of Notaries. Accordingly, the Award has been presented to a number of state officials, including Missouri Secretary of State Matt Blunt, for instituting mandatory education for Notaries; New Hampshire State Representative Cynthia Dokmo, for her legislation setting ID standards for notarial acts; and Rhode Island Governor Donald Carcieri and Secretary of State Ralph Mollis, for adopting administrative rules to guide their state’s Notaries.

2016 - David Hadley, California State Assembly Member

2015 - Natalie Tennant, West Virginia Secretary of State

2009 - Donald Carcieri, Rhode Island Governor

2009 - Ralph Mollis, Rhode Island Secretary of State

2008 - Joan Decker, Philadelphia Commissioner of Records

2008 - Steve McDonald, Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, Recorder of Deeds

2005 - Rebecca Vigil-Giron, New Mexico Secretary of State

‚Äč2005 - Cynthia Dokmo, New Hampshire State Representative

2004 - Matt Blunt, Missouri Secretary of State