Your Cookies are Disabled! NationalNotary.org sets cookies on your computer to help improve performance and provide a more engaging user experience. By using this site, you accept the terms of our cookie policy. Learn more.

2022 Notary Fees By State

Each state sets fees Notaries may charge to perform notarial acts. Notaries may charge any fee (or none) up to the maximum allowed under their state fee schedule. Below is a chart listing each state's fee schedule for acknowledgments, jurats and other special notarial acts.

* These fees are temporary and will cease to apply when the emergency order for remote notarization expires.
** There's a $15 flat fee for performing these notarial acts for the grantors in the transfer of real estate (regardless of the number of services performed in a single transaction).
† While you may charge a travel fee, the signer must agree to it in advance.
‡ Fee per signature. For Guam, acknowledgments and jurats are $10 for the first two signatures and $8 for each additional signature.

State Acknowledgments Jurats Verbal Oath/
Affirmation
Travel Fees (set by) RON
Alabama $5 $5 $5 - N/A
Alaska View View View View View
Am. Samoa $10 ‡ $10 ‡ $20 ‡ - N/A
Arizona $10 $10 $10 Dept. of Admin $25
Arkansas View View View View N/A
California $15 $15 $15 Not set † N/A
Colorado $5 $5 $5 - $10
Connecticut $5 $5 $5 $0.35 per mile N/A
Delaware $5 $5 $5 - N/A
DC $5 $5 $5 †  Not set*
Florida $10 $10 $10 - $25
Georgia $2 $2 $2 Not set † N/A
Guam $10 ‡ $10 ‡ $10 - N/A
Hawaii $5 $5 $5 - $25
Idaho $5 $5 $5 - Not set
Illinois $1 $1 $1 - N/A
Indiana $10 ‡ $10 ‡ $10 ‡ U.S. General Services Admin $25
Iowa View View View View View
Kansas View View View View N/A
Kentucky View View View View View
Louisiana View View View View N/A
Maine View View View View N/A
Maryland $4 $4 $4 IRS ($5 max.) $4
Massachusetts View View View View N/A
Michigan $10 $10 $10 Not set † $10
Minnesota $5 $5 $5 - $25
Mississippi $5 $5 $5 Not set † N/A
Missouri $5 $5 $5 Not set † $5*
Montana $10 $10 $10 IRS $10 per signature
Nebraska $5 $2 $2 Dept. of Admin Services $25
Nevada $15 $15 $7.50 $15 - $30 per hour † $25
New Hampshire $10 $10 $10 $0.20 per mile $25
New Jersey $2.50 / $15** $2.50 / $15** $2.50 / $15** N/A Not set
New Mexico $5 $5 $5 Not set † $25
New York $2 $2 $2 - N/A
North Carolina $10 $10 $10 Prohibited N/A
North Dakota $5 $5 $5 Not set † $5
Northern Marianas $2 $2 $2 - N/A
Ohio $5 $5 $5 Not set † $25
Oklahoma $5 $5 $5 - $25
Oregon $10 $10 $10 Not set † $25
Pennsylvania $5 $5 $5 - N/A
Puerto Rico View View View View View
Rhode Island $5 $5 $5 IRS $25
South Carolina $5 $5 $5 Not set † N/A
South Dakota $10 $10 $10 - $10
Tennessee View View View View $25
Texas $6 $6 $6 - $25 + regular Notary fee
US Virgin Islands $5 $5 $5 - N/A
Utah $10 ‡ $10 ‡ $10 ‡ - $25
Vermont View View View View View
Virginia $5 $5 $5 Not set † $25
Washington $10 $10 $10 Not set † $25
West Virginia $10 $10 $10 - N/A
Wisconsin $5 $5 $5 - $25
Wyoming $10
$0 $10 IRS † N/A


The table below lists the states in which Notary fees are not set by the law.

State Acknowledgments, Jurats, Verbal Oath/Affirmation, Travel Fees
Alaska No fee schedule
Arkansas No fee schedule, but signer must agree to it in advance
Iowa No fee schedule
Kansas No fee schedule
Kentucky No fee schedule
Louisiana No fee schedule
Maine No fee schedule
Massachusetts No fee schedule
Puerto Rico Fees vary depending on the act
Tennessee No fee schedule, but $25 for RON
Vermont No fee schedule

Knowledge Center

Close