Your Cookies are Disabled! NationalNotary.org sets cookies on your computer to help improve performance and provide a more engaging user experience. By using this site, you accept the terms of our cookie policy. Learn more.

Can I Charge Credible Witnesses A Fee?

NNA Hotline Tip Logo

A signer presented me with two credible witnesses as proof of his identity. Once the notarization is complete, do I ask only the signer to pay a fee, or can I charge a fee from the credible witnesses as well?R.A., Santa Rosa, California

You may only charge the signer for the notarial act. The maximum you may charge in California is $15 per signature. Credible witnesses serve as a means to identify the signer for the notarial act and are not signers of the document.

Hotline answers are based on the laws in the state where the question originated and may not reflect the laws of other states. If in doubt, always refer to your own state statutes. – The Editors

Confronted with a tricky notarization? Unsure how to proceed? NNA members have unlimited access to our expertly trained NNA Hotline counselors to help you with all of your notarial questions. Call 1-888-876-0827, Monday through Friday, 5 a.m. to 7 p.m. PST; Saturday, 5 a.m. to 5 p.m. PST

8 Comments

Add your comment

Artur

14 Dec 2015

Sometimes these answers are very vague. R.A., you are notarizing the signature of the signer. You are not notarizing the signatures of the credible witnesses. In essence, you can charge up to $10 every time a signer signs a document and signs your journal at the same time.

Roselind Schwartz

15 Dec 2015

Talking about fees. When will New York raise fees..$2.00 is a joke!!!!!!

John Minjiras

20 Jun 2016

Will the charge per notary in California be raised to $15.00. The bill is now before the State Senate. What is the status of the bill and does the NNA feel it will pass this year.

Toriiey

13 Apr 2017

What is the maximum amount that you can charge for a notary fee in Georgia

National Notary Association

17 Apr 2017

Hello. The maximum is $2.

Natalia Fuentes

26 Jun 2017

My client had a document from the Department of Motor Vehicles. I attached my California Certificate and it was rejected. I call the DMV and they said that for no reason they would accept the California attached certificate.

Gloria Ammeral Johnson

07 Sep 2017

I've been reading and researching information about notary services for loan documents where you notarize real estate closing documents. To provide these notary services they can pay $75.00 to $200.00 for your notary services. If the maximum fee charged to notarize documents in Virginia is $5.00, how can one receive payment of $75-$200 to sign loan documents? I would like to know how this is in compliance? Is notarizing mortgage document under a different category? Also, I would like to confirm if the $5.00 notary fee is per document page that must be notarize or a flat fee regardless of the number of pages. Thank you.

National Notary Association

08 Sep 2017

Hello. Notary Signing Agents are paid not only for notarizing documents, but also for performing services such as printing and delivering loan documents as well. In Virginia, the fee is per notarial act performed. When notarizing paper documents, the maximum fee allowed for taking and certifying an acknowledgment, administering and certifying an oath, certifying a true copy, or certifying an affidavit or deposition is $5 (COV 47.1-19[A]).

Leave a Comment

Required *

All comments are reviewed and if approved, will display.