Starting July 1, West Virginia will become the latest state to raise the amount Notaries may charge for their services — increasing the maximum Notary fee from $2 to $5. The fee increase was part of a comprehensive revision of West Virginia’s Notary statutes enacted when House Bill 4012 was signed into law March 28. Two other states — Maryland and Wyoming — increased their maximum Notary Public fees this year and several other states have introduced bills that, if enacted, would allow Notaries to charge more for notarizations. View our recent coverage of Notary fee increases across the nation. David Thun is an Associate Editor at the National Notary Association.