WV Administrative Rule (Fees) | NNA
Rule

WV Administrative Rule (Fees)

Notary Law Update: WV Administrative Rule (Fees)

State: West Virginia

Summary:

153 CSR 50 puts into effect an emergency rule specifying the amount of the commissioning fee for West Virginia Notary Public applicants.

Signed:  May 20, 2014

Effective:  June 30, 2014

Chapter: N/A

Affects:

Creates Section 50 of Title 153 of the West Virginia Code of State Rules

Changes:
  1. Clarifies the amount of the commissioning fee for West Virginia Notary Public applications ($52).
  2. Clarifies that the fee may be be made payable to the West Virginia Secretary of State by check, money order, major credit card or certified check.
Analysis:

West Virginia's enactment of the Revised Uniform Law on Notarial Acts repealed the Notary Public statutes formerly contained in Chapter 29C of the West Virginia Code. Former Section 29C-2-202 provided that the fee for commissioning was $50 and former Section 29C-2-207 provided for an additional fee of $2 for filing the handwritten signature specimen required under that statute. Since these two statutes were repealed effective July 1, 2014, and since the Revised Uniform Law on Notarial Acts authorized the Secretary of State to publish rules around the commissioning process, an emergency rule specifying the commissioning fee was needed for applications submitted on or after July 1, 2014. The amount of the fee applicants will be required to pay for a commission ($52) is unchanged from the total fee required prior to July 1, 2014.

Read the text of the administrative rule.

Knowledge Center