Your Cookies are Disabled! sets cookies on your computer to help improve performance and provide a more engaging user experience. By using this site, you accept the terms of our cookie policy. Learn more.

States That Allow Temporary Remote Notarization

There are 3 states with temporary remote online notarization laws. Of those states, 3 have given Notaries with an active commission immediate authorization to start performing notarial acts remotely. Those states are Delaware, Massachusetts and Mississippi.

The following states require Notaries to meet specific qualifications or complete a registration process before they use videoconferencing software to perform notarial acts: Delaware, Georgia and Rhode Island.

How to Become a Remote Online Notary in Delaware

Delaware only allows Notaries who are licensed attorneys in good standing with the Supreme Court of Delaware to perform notarizations using audio-video technology until July 31, 2023. 
Delaware has enacted permanent remote notarization laws that will go into effect on August 1, 2023. 

How to Become a Remote Online Notary in Georgia

In Georgia, Notaries are temporarily allowed to use real-time audio-visual communication technology or video conferencing to satisfy the physical presence requirement for notarizing certain documents. If you're a GA Notary who is also an attorney, you're permitted to perform online notarizations for real estate documents.

States That Do Not Allow Remote Online Notarizations

Temporary authorization expired in Connecticut.

California does not allow any form of remote online notarization at this time, and South Carolina remains silent on the issue.

Knowledge Center