Notary Bulletin Hotline Tip: How Much Am I Permitted To Charge For Notary Services? By NNA Staff on May 16, 2013 in Hotline Tips What is the highest amount that a Tennessee Notary can charge for notarial services? – M.H., Nashville, TN In Tennessee, as in many states, the maximum fee you are able to charge depends upon the notarial act you are performing and must comply with Tennessee Code Annotated Section 8-21-1201. A discussion regarding these can be found in the Tennessee Notary Law Primer, which we reprint for you below: Fees for Notarial Services Maximum Fees. The following maximum fees for performing notarial acts are allowed by Tennessee law: Acknowledgments: $5. Tennessee Notaries may charge the same fee that county clerks may charge (TCA 8-21-1201). As of July 1, 2008, “county clerks are entitled to demand and receive for … taking an acknowledgment …$5.00” (TCA 8-21-701). Protests: $1.50. For executing a protest for nonpayment or nonacceptance, the maximum fee is $1.50 (TCA 8-21-1201). Depositions: $1. For each deposition taken, the maximum fee is $1 (TCA 8-21-1201). Journal Entries: $1. For recording in a well-bound book each attestation and protestation, the maximum fee is $1(TCA 8-21-1201). Other Legally Performed Services: For any service legally performed by a Notary, such as jurats and proofs of execution by subscribing witnesses, the Notary may charge the same fees allowed other officers for a like service, usually 50 cents (TCA 8-21-1201). Travel Fees: Charges for travel by a Notary are not specified by law. Such fees should be charged only if the Notary and signer agree beforehand on the amount to be charged. The Notary should explain to the signer that a travel fee is not stipulated by law and is separate from the authorized notarial fees for the notarial act. Notaries in Tennessee are not required to charge for their notarial services, and they are permitted to charge any fee less than the maximum figures noted above. However, charging more than the statutory fees for any notarial act may subject the Notary to penalties or charges of discrimination. Information on statutory fee limits in other states can be found in the NNA State Notary Law Primers. Confronted with a tricky notarization? Unsure how to proceed? NNA members have unlimited access to our expertly trained NNA Hotline counselors to help you with all of your notarial questions. Call (888) 876-0827, Monday through Friday, 5 a.m. to 7 p.m. PST; Saturday, 5 a.m. to 5 p.m. PST Email Share 3 Comments Add your commentNational Notary Association13 Oct 2014Hello Holly, If you suspect that a Tennessee Notary is charging in excess of the state's maximum permitted fee, you may report it by filing a complaint with the District Attorney General in the judicial district where the suspected misconduct took place. Please see this site: http://www.tn.gov/sos/pub/notaries/index.htm for more information on how to file a complaint and for links to look up the appropriate judicial district.Joanne Parks27 Oct 2014How much can you charge for a fee in MichiganHolly13 Oct 2014I have a question. If notaries in TN are only allowed to charge $1 for most services (as stated above), why does UPS store charge $10 for their notary service?Leave a Comment Required * Name * Email *(for verfication purposes only) Comment * Enter the text shown in this image *(text is case sensitive)All comments are reviewed and if approved, will display.