Your Cookies are Disabled! NationalNotary.org sets cookies on your computer to help improve performance and provide a more engaging user experience. By using this site, you accept the terms of our cookie policy. Learn more.

How to Become a Notary Public in Oklahoma

Applicants who want to become a Notary in Oklahoma must complete the following steps:

  1. Make sure you meet all requirements under Oklahoma state law (see below).
  2. Complete the Oklahoma Notary Public Application.
  3. Mail or deliver your application along with a check or money order for the $25 filing fee to the Secretary of State. You can also submit your application online.
  4. Once you have received your commission via mail, get your Notary seal, $1,000 surety bond and any other supplies you will need during your commission.
  5. File your Notary seal and bond with the Secretary of State, including the $10 filing fee.
  6. Get E&O insurance (optional, but strongly recommended).
  7. Take continuing education or consult Notary experts for guidance (optional, but strongly recommended).

Start your Notary career now.

Get everything you need with a full Oklahoma Notary Supply Package.

In This Guide: Oklahoma Notary Process | OK Notary Requirements | General Notary Public Information

More Details About the Oklahoma Notary Process

Find out how much an OK Notary Public commission costs and more below.

How much does it cost to be a Notary in Oklahoma?

The application fee for new Notaries is $25. Once you have received your commission certificate, you will need to file your bond with the Office of the Secretary of State, and a $10 filing fee applies. The cost of the bond, seal and other supplies will vary based upon the vendor chosen.

How long does it take?

The timing can vary. Once you have received your commission from the Secretary of State, which can take two to 10 weeks, you will need to purchase a bond and seal. You will need to file your surety bond, oath of office, loyalty oath, official signature and impression of your Notary seal with the Secretary of State within 60 days after the date your commission is issued. You may not perform notarial acts until this step has been completed.

How long does an Oklahoma Notary commission last?

The Notary commission in Oklahoma is valid for four years.

Back to Top


Requirements to be a Notary in Oklahoma

Learn how you can qualify to become a Notary in the Sooner State.

Who can become a Notary?

To qualify to become a Notary in Oklahoma, applicants must meet the following requirements:

  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Be a citizen of the U.S.
  • Be a legal resident of Oklahoma or an out-of-state resident who is employed in Oklahoma
  • Be able to read and write English
  • Not have been convicted of a felony

Is training or an exam required to become a Notary in Oklahoma?

No exam or training is required.

What kind of supplies will I need?

In Oklahoma, Notaries must use an inked rubber stamp in conjunction with a stamp pad and ink, or a metal embosser that leaves an embossed impression, for all notarial acts. The seal must include the following information:

  • Your name as it appears on your commission
  • The words "Notary Public"
  • The words "State of Oklahoma"
  • Your commission number (optional)
  • Your commission expiration date (optional)

When shopping for seals, quality and durability can vary greatly among vendors. Ask if the seals carry a lifetime guarantee. In particular, stamps should not bleed during or after use, as this can cause county officials to reject documents due to smudging. If you choose to purchase an embosser, you will also need to purchase an embosser inker to satisfy the requirement that the impression is able to be photocopied.

A second seal can help you avoid downtime if your seal is ever misplaced.

Keeping a journal is not required in Oklahoma, but is recommended by the state. A journal can protect you if a notarization performed is ever questioned, and should be kept in a safe, locked area.

Do I need a surety bond or insurance?

A $1,000 surety bond is required to become a Notary in Oklahoma and it must be filed within 60 days of the start of your commission. The bond can be purchased from an insurance agency or bonding company. (Notaries can also choose to have the bond signed by one or more sureties who are property owners in the Notary's county of residence or, in the case of a non-resident Notary, the county of employment.) The bond must be approved by the Secretary of State.

Errors and omissions (E&O) insurance is optional. This insurance helps protect the Notary. If you make an unintentional mistake or a false claim is filed against you, an E&O policy will cover your legal fees and awarded damages up to the coverage you select.

Back to Top


General Notary Public Information

Here, you'll find answers to the most common questions about being an OK Notary.

Which state government office handles Notaries?

In Oklahoma, the Secretary of State, located in Oklahoma City, OK, issues Notary commissions.

Where will I be able to notarize?

Oklahoma Notaries can perform notarial acts anywhere in the state.

Who can I notarize for?

You can notarize for any member of the public who makes a reasonable request and meets all requirements for notarization, such as personally appearing before you and providing satisfactory proof of identity. You cannot notarize your own signature.

What fees can OK Notaries charge for their services?

The OK Secretary of State allows Notaries to charge no more than $5 per notarial act. No fee shall be charged for the notarization of an official absentee ballot affidavit.

What should I do if I move or change my name?

For an address change, submit a signed statement to the Secretary of State within 30 days. If you move to a different county within Oklahoma, your commission continues in the county of appointment until it expires. You're not required to get a new bond and seal for this type of change.

If you change your name during your commission, you can continue to use your old name until your commission expires. If you do want to update your name, you will need to resign the current commission and reapply as a new Notary. You will also need to purchase a new bond and seal and submit a signed request to cancel the previous commission issued under your former name.

What is the process to renew my commission as an Oklahoma Notary?

You can begin the renewal process no earlier than six weeks before your commission expires. The renewal process in Oklahoma is similar to the process to become a Notary. Complete the application and submit it along with a $20 renewal fee to the Secretary of State. You will need to purchase a new bond and seal.

What do I need to know about remote online notarization in Oklahoma?

Oklahoma is the 20th state to allow remote online notarizations. Effective January 1, 2020, Notaries Public can register to perform RONs for signers in any location as long as the Notaries themselves are physically located within Oklahoma at the time of the notarial act. Use our step-by-step guide to learn how you can become an Oklahoma remote Notary.

If you're not quite ready yet, we have additional resources where you can learn what a Notary is, what they do and why you should become a commissioned Notary.

Back to Top


Are you ready to get started?

Get everything you need with a full Oklahoma Notary Supply Package.