Your Cookies are Disabled! NationalNotary.org sets cookies on your computer to help improve performance and provide a more engaging user experience. By using this site, you accept the terms of our cookie policy. Learn more.

How to Become a Notary Public in Nevada

To become a Notary Public in Nevada, you must complete the commissioning steps below:

  1. Make sure you meet all of your state’s requirements (see below).
  2. Take the three-hour online Notary training course through the Secretary of State’s Notary Division and pass the exam.
  3. Get a $10,000 surety bond and file it with the county clerk, so they can issue your “Filing Notice.”
  4. Submit your application, filing notice, training certificate and filing fee, to the Secretary of State via the SilverFlume online portal.
  5. Buy your official Notary stamp. You must provide the original or a certified copy of your Certificate of Appointment to an approved Notary seal vendor to complete your purchase.
  6. Buy your Notary journal.
  7. Get E&O insurance (optional, but strongly recommended).
  8. Take a continuing education course for additional Notary training (optional, but strongly recommended).

Start your Notary career now.

Get everything you need with a full Nevada Notary Supply Package.

In This Guide: Nevada Notary Process | NV Notary Requirements | General Notary Public Information

More Details About the Nevada Notary Process

Have more questions about the Notary Public application process? Read on below.

How much does it cost?

The application fee is $35 for a Notary Public commission in Nevada. The Secretary of State’s online Notary class and exam cost $45. There may be additional county fees for filing your bond, signature and commission. Additional costs for bonds, Notary tools and education courses vary depending on vendors.

The total cost of commissioning can differ depending on whether you are a new or renewing Notary. Keep in mind that supply package prices vary among vendors. New Notaries may need more “how-to” assistance than experienced Notaries. Books, training and live expert assistance are often must-haves for most new Notaries.

Before making your purchase, be sure to ask your vendor about any hidden fees – like processing fees – and research the quality of continuing education they provide.

How long does it take to become a Notary in Nevada?

The Nevada Secretary of State’s office estimates three to four weeks for the processing of a Notary Public commission application.

How long does a Nevada Notary commission last?

The term of a Nevada Notary commission is four years.

Back to Top


Requirements to be a Notary in Nevada

Below is information to help you qualify for a Notary commission in the Silver State.

Who can become a Notary?

A Notary Public applicant in Nevada must meet the following requirements:

  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Be a resident of Nevada, or a resident of a bordering state and employed in Nevada
  • Submit a complete set of fingerprints to the FBI for analysis if required by the Secretary of State
  • Possess civil rights (convicted felons whose civil rights have not been restored cannot become a Notary)
  • Cannot hold a public office in the U.S. federal government at the time of application

What kind of training will I need?

Anyone applying for a Notary commission must take an approved three-hour course of instruction. The online class costs $45 and is provided by the Secretary of State’s Notary Division. The Training & Class Information section of their website includes details about the topics covered as well as how to register and pay for the training.

The NNA also offers an interactive online course that provides new Notaries with the how-to knowledge needed to perform common notarial acts.

Do I need to take an exam?

Yes, you must pass an online exam to become a Notary in Nevada.

What kind of supplies will I need?

Nevada Notaries are required to use a rubber stamp ink seal and journal for all notarial acts for paper documents. In order to get a Notary stamp, you’ll need to get a certified copy of your Certificate of Appointment. The stamp must be in a rectangular shape no larger than 1” x 2.5” with an optional border. The following information must be on the stamp:

  • Your name as it appears on your commission
  • The words “Notary Public, State of Nevada”
  • Your commission expiration date
  • Your commission number
  • The Great Seal of the State of Nevada (optional)
  • The word “non-resident,” if you’re a resident of an adjoining state

When shopping for seal stamps, quality and durability can vary greatly among vendors. Stamps should not bleed during or after use, as this can cause county officials to reject documents due to smudging.

Your journal is a record of all your official notarial acts. It is your exclusive property and may not be used by any other person or surrendered to an employer upon termination of employment.

When you’re deciding which journal to buy, look for security features like tamper-proof sewn binding so it’s easy to see if any pages are missing. This is extremely helpful if you’re ever named in a lawsuit and simple notebooks or glue-bound journals do not offer the same level of security.

What is a surety bond and why do I need one?

Nevada Notaries are required to get a $10,000 surety bond from an authorized provider and file it with the county clerk of your residence or employment. The bond is a financial guarantee from a bonding company for signers and parties relying on a notarization who experience financial damages because a Notary intentionally or unintentionally violated a Notary law. If damages are paid out from the bond, you will need to repay your surety company.

Since a surety bond does not protect the Notary, many Notaries choose to purchase errors and omissions (E&O) insurance policies to protect themselves from legal expenses. E&O insurance is not a requirement in Nevada.

Back to Top


General Notary Public Information

Here, you’ll learn more about being a Notary Public in Nevada.

Which state government office handles Notaries?

The Nevada Office of Secretary of State, Notary Division, located in Carson City, NV, issues Notary Public commissions.

What additional steps do I need to take if I reside in a state that borders Nevada?

If you live in Arizona, California, Idaho, Oregon or Utah and you work in Nevada, you may qualify to become a non-resident Nevada Notary. You must meet all of the requirements and follow all of the steps resident Notaries must complete.

You’ll need to submit a Non-resident Notary Public Affidavit and provide a copy of your employer’s Nevada State Business license. Additionally, you’ll need your employer to fill out an Affidavit of Applicant’s Employer form. If you’re self-employed, you’ll need to submit an Affidavit of Self-Employer Applicant form. Non-resident Notary affidavit forms are available online from the Nevada Secretary of State.

Every year, within 30 days before the anniversary of your appointment, you must submit a copy of the state business license of employment, a copy of any license required by the local government where the business is located and resubmit the affidavits.

May I become a Nevada Notary if I am not a U.S. citizen?

Yes. You do not have to be a U.S. citizen to become a Nevada Notary Public.

Where will I be able to notarize?

A Nevada Notary can perform notarial acts anywhere within the state’s borders.

Who can I notarize for?

Any member of the public, as long as the request meets all statutory requirements for notarization. You may not notarize your own signature nor for your spouse or anyone to whom you’re related by blood. In addition, you’re prohibited from notarizing for a domestic partner, your domestic partner’s family, step family members and adopted children.

How much can NV Notaries charge per notarization?

The Nevada Secretary of State sets the maximum fees Notaries can charge, which ranges from $2.50 for administering an oath or affirmation to $75 for performing a marriage ceremony. Notaries may charge an additional traveling fee, but the signer must agree to the hourly rate in advance.

What if I move or change my signature?

If you have a change related to your address, county, signature or employment, you must notify the Notary Division within 30 days. You must submit a completed Request for Amended Certificate form and a $10 filing fee. Failure to submit a certificate within 30 days may result in the suspension of your commission.

What is the process to renew my commission as a Nevada Notary?

The process to renew your Notary commission is the same as when you first applied. You must meet the requirements, take the three-hour training class, pass the exam and follow all of the initial application steps.

What do I need to know about remote electronic notarization in Nevada?

As of December 14, 2018, Nevada allows remote online notarizations. You must have an active Notary Public commission to apply for remote registration. This step-by-step guide will teach you how to become a remote Notary in Nevada.

If you're not quite ready yet, we have additional resources where you can learn what a Notary is, what they do and why you should become a commissioned Notary.

Back to Top


Are you ready to get started?

Get everything you need with a full Nevada Notary Supply Package.