Your Cookies are Disabled! NationalNotary.org sets cookies on your computer to help improve performance and provide a more engaging user experience. By using this site, you accept the terms of our cookie policy. Learn more.

How to Become a Notary Public in Colorado

To become a Notary Public in Colorado, you must complete the following process:

  1. Make sure you meet the state’s qualifications (see below).
  2. Take a Notary training course from a state-approved provider.
  3. Pass the state-required exam.
  4. Take your oath of office and get your affirmation notarized.
  5. Submit your application with your ID card, training certificate, exam certificate, notarized affirmation and the $10 filing fee online.
  6. Receive your commission, your Notary ID and password via email.
  7. Print your commission certificate. Present it to an approved Notary stamp vendor.
  8. Buy your official Notary stamp and journal.
  9. Get E&O insurance (optional, but strongly recommended).

Start your Notary career now.

Get everything you need with a full Colorado Notary supply package.

In This Guide: Colorado Notary Process | CO Notary Requirements | General Notary Public Information

More Details About the Colorado Notary Process

Here is some more information on the application process for a Notary Public commission.

How much does it cost to become a Colorado Notary?

There is a $10 fee to apply for a Notary Public commission online. Additional costs for training courses, Notary supplies and insurance vary depending on vendors.

The cost of commissioning can differ depending on whether you are a new or renewing Notary. New Notaries may need more “how-to” assistance than experienced Notaries. Books, training and live expert assistance are often must-haves for most new Notaries.

How long does the commission process take?

The Colorado Secretary of State estimates a length of three to five business days for the processing of a Notary Public commission application.

How long does a Notary commission last in Colorado?

A Colorado Notary commission lasts for four years.

Back to Top


Requirements to be a Notary in Colorado

Learn how you can qualify to become a Notary in the Centennial State below.

Who can become a Notary?

A Notary Public applicant in Colorado must meet the following requirements:

  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Be a citizen or permanent legal resident, or lawfully present in the U.S.
  • Be a resident of or have a place of employment in Colorado
  • Be able to read and write English
  • Not be convicted of a felony or the unauthorized practice of law
  • Not be convicted of a misdemeanor involving dishonesty in the prior five years
  • Not have a finding against, or admission of liability to, acts of fraud, dishonesty or deceit
  • Not have a Notary Public commission revoked, denied or suspended in another state

What kind of Notary training is required?

Colorado requires training for all Notary applicants. The training can be taken online or in-person by an approved education vendor. The training provided by the state is a two-hour class.

Do Notary applicants need to take an exam?

Yes. Colorado Notaries must take an exam. The online, open-book exam generally takes 25-30 minutes to complete. When you finish the exam, click the “Print Completion Certificate” button to issue proof that you passed.

What kind of supplies will I need?

Colorado Notaries are required to use a rubber stamp ink seal and a journal for paper-based notarizations. Stamps should not bleed during or after use, as this can cause county officials to reject documents due to smudging. The seal must be in a rectangular design with a rectangular outline or border that is either plain or decorative. The following information must be inside the border:

  • Your name as it appears on your commission certificate
  • The words “Notary Public”
  • The words “State of Colorado”
  • Your Notary ID number
  • Your commission expiration date

You must also keep and maintain a journal of all your official notarial acts. You may keep a hardcopy with numbered pages or a tamper-evident digital journal. Simple notebooks or glue-bound journals are not acceptable in Colorado. When purchasing a journal, there are features to which you must pay close attention. A journal with tamper-proof sewn construction allows Notaries to identify missing pages in their journals, which becomes extremely helpful if you’re ever named in a lawsuit. Your Notary seal and journal of notarial acts must be kept secure and under your exclusive control. They may not be used by any other person.

Do I need a surety bond or insurance?

A surety bond is not required in Colorado.

However, Notaries can insure themselves against possible legal costs or damages by purchasing a separate, optional errors and omissions (E&O) insurance policy. Though not required by law either, an E&O policy covers a Notary’s legal fees and damages up to the amount of the policy, should the Notary get sued for making an unintentional mistake or if a false claim is filed against them.

Back to Top


General Notary Public Information

Have more questions about being a Notary in Colorado? We’ve got you covered.

Which state government office handles Notaries?

The Colorado Office of Secretary of State, Business and Licensing Division, Notary Program, Denver, CO, issues Notary Public commissions.

May I become a Colorado Notary if I am not a U.S. citizen?

Yes. You do not have to be a U.S. citizen to become a Colorado Notary Public. If you’re not a citizen, you must be a permanent legal resident or lawfully present in the United States. You must reside in or have a place of employment in Colorado and meet all other application requirements.

Where will I be able to notarize?

A Colorado Notary can perform notarial acts anywhere within the state’s borders.

Who can I notarize for?

Notaries commissioned by the state of Colorado may perform notarizations for any member of the public, as long as the request meets all statutory requirements for notarization. You’re not allowed to notarize your own signature or that of your spouse, partner, ancestors, descendants and siblings. Any document from which you or your family member might benefit is strictly prohibited.

How much can CO Notaries charge per notarization?

Colorado authorizes Notaries to charge a maximum fee of $5 per notarial act.

What should I do if I move or change my name?

Any changes to your address, name or signature must be reported to the Secretary of State within 30 days of the change. You can do so by logging into your account and updating your information there. If you change your home address, you can print a new Notary Commission Certificate with your new address. For name changes, you must provide a copy of an acceptable ID with your new name and submit a sample of your new signature.

What is the process to renew my commission as a Colorado Notary?

The process to renew your commission is the same as when you initially applied to become a Colorado Notary. You may renew online up to 90 days before your commission expires.

What do I need to know about remote online notarization in Colorado?

Starting on December 31, 2020, remote online notarization (RON) will be allowed in Colorado. To qualify, you must hold an existing traditional Notary Public commission and inform the Secretary of State of the RON technology provider you intend to use. We’ll provide more information as it becomes available.

If you're not quite ready yet, we have additional resources where you can learn what a Notary is, what they do and why you should become a commissioned Notary.

Back to Top


Are you ready to get started?

Get everything you need with a full Colorado Notary Supply Package.