Your Cookies are Disabled! NationalNotary.org sets cookies on your computer to help improve performance and provide a more engaging user experience. By using this site, you accept the terms of our cookie policy. Learn more.

How to Become a Notary Public in New Jersey

In order to become a Notary in NJ, you must complete the following steps:

  1. Make sure you meet all of your state's qualifications (see below).
  2. Complete the Notary application form using the state's website. Your online application will be forwarded to the senator or assemblyperson of your choice for endorsement.
  3. Pay the $25 fee for paper applications or $30 fee for online filing.
  4. If you're approved, the state's Notary Public Unit will send a Commission Certificate and Oath Qualification Certificate.
  5. Take the certificates to your county clerk within three months.
  6. The county clerk will administer your oath of office and collect a filing fee. They will send the completed Oath Qualification Certificate to the Notary Public Unit.
  7. Buy a Notary seal and journal (optional, but strongly recommended).
  8. Get E&O insurance (optional, but strongly recommended).
  9. Take Notary training for additional information and guidance (optional, but strongly recommended).

Start your Notary career now.

Get everything you need with a full New Jersey Notary Supply Package.

In This Guide: New Jersey Notary Process | NJ Notary Requirements | General Notary Public Information

More Details About the New Jersey Notary Process

Below are answers to common questions about the Notary Public application process.

How much does it cost?

There is a fee to apply for an NJ Notary Public commission. It costs $25 to file a paper application and $30 to file an online application. Additional costs for Notary tools vary depending on vendors. There are county fees for filing your bond, signature and commission. The cost of commissioning can differ depending on whether you are a new or renewing Notary.

Supply package prices vary among vendors. New Notaries may need more how-to assistance than experienced Notaries. Books, training and live expert assistance are often must-haves for most new Notaries.

How long does it take to become an NJ Notary?

It can take four to six weeks to become commissioned as an NJ Notary Public. This depends on your availability and the time the State Treasurer needs to process your application.

How long does a New Jersey Notary commission last?

The term of a New Jersey Notary commission is five years.

Back to Top


Requirements to be a Notary in New Jersey

Wondering if you qualify for a Notary commission in the Garden State? Read on below.

Who can become a Notary in NJ?

A Notary Public applicant in New Jersey must meet the following requirements:

  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Be a resident of New Jersey or a resident of an adjoining state who maintains or is regularly employed in an office in New Jersey
  • Not have been convicted of a crime under the laws of any state or of the U.S. for an offense involving dishonesty, or a crime of the first or second degree

Is there training or an exam required?

There is no state-required training or exam for New Jersey Notary applicants.

What kind of supplies will I need?

New Jersey Notaries may use a rubber stamp ink seal and/or journal for all notarial acts for paper documents; however, it is not required by law. The seal may contain the following information:

  • Your name as it appears on your commission
  • The words "Notary Public"
  • The words "State of New Jersey"
  • Your commission expiration date

You may use an embosser in addition to the rubber stamp seal, but the use of an embosser is optional as well. If using a Notary stamp, be sure to select one that does not bleed during or after use, as this can cause county officials to reject documents due to smudging.

It is strongly recommended that you use a journal of notarial acts to keep a record of your notarizations even though your state doesn't require it. A journal with tamper-proof sewn construction allows Notaries to identify missing pages in their journals, which becomes extremely helpful if you're ever named in a lawsuit. Simple notebooks or glue-bound journals simply do not offer the same level of security.

What is a surety bond and do I need one?

A surety bond is not required for Notaries in NJ. Surety bonds protect the public from financial harm if the Notary acts improperly or is negligent. Many Notaries choose to purchase an optional errors and omissions (E&O) insurance policy to protect themselves from possible legal costs or damages if their notarial acts are called into question.

Back to Top


General Notary Public Information

Here, you can find more information about being an NJ Notary Public.

Which state government office handles Notaries?

The New Jersey Department of Treasury, Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services (DORES), located in Trenton, NJ, appoints and commissions Notaries Public. The Department of the Treasury's Notary Public Unit processes Notary applications and handles Notary-related matters in NJ.

May I become an NJ Notary if I am not a U.S. citizen?

Yes. You do not have to be a U.S. citizen to become a New Jersey Notary Public. You must, however, be a legal resident of the state, or be employed within the state and meet all other application requirements.

Can an NJ Notary notarize out of state?

No. A New Jersey Notary can only perform notarial acts within the state's borders.

Who can I notarize for?

Any member of the public, as long as the request meets all statutory requirements for notarization. The State Treasurer recommends refraining from notarizing documents in which you have a personal interest, including documents you've prepared for a fee.

How much can New Jersey Notaries charge for their services?

New Jersey authorizes Notaries to charge a maximum fee of $2.50 per notarial act.

What happens if I move or change my name?

You must report any changes to your address or name to the State Treasurer's Division of Revenue. You can do so by submitting a change request online. There is no fee for an address change, but there is a $25 fee for a name change.

What is the process to renew my commission as a Notary?

The renewal process in New Jersey is similar to the process to become a Notary. The state will send you a renewal package three months prior to your commission expiration date.

What do I need to know about remote online notarization in New Jersey?

New Jersey does not allow remote online notarization (RON), but there are 25 states that do. For more information about how RONs work compared to traditional or electronic notarizations, check out this article.

If you're not quite ready yet, we have additional resources where you can learn what a Notary is, what they do and why you should become a commissioned Notary.

Back to Top


Are you ready to get started?

Get everything you need with a full New Jersey Notary Supply Package.