The National Notary Association bestows prestigious awards for excellence and achievement not only on Notaries, but also on officials and other influential persons who govern or set standards for Notaries, or otherwise make significant contributions toward the improvement of the Notary office. The NNA Conference serves as the venue for recognizing outstanding achievements in the Notary field.

Notary of the Year

The Notary of the Year Award is given annually to an outstanding Notary Public who operates at a level of professionalism and ethical conduct and sets a high standard for other Notaries to emulate. In addition to excellence in the performance of notarial duties, recipients of the Notary of the Year honor are distinguished by their achievements in one or more of the following activities:

  • Community service
  • Mentorship of other Notaries
  • Working to enact needed legislation
  • Providing notarial services to the less fortunate
  • Trailblazing new technologies
  • Public speaking to promote the Notary office

The 2018 Notary of the Year Honorees are:

Beatriz Mendoza

Santa Ana, CA

Jeannette Ramcharan

Bowie, MD

Phyllis Traylor

Schertz, TX

Crystal Whiteside-Lemon

Middleburg, FL

The 2018 Notary of the Year will be announced at the Gala Banquet on Tuesday, June 5.

View Past Notary of the Year Recipients →


March Fong Eu Achievement Award

The March Fong Eu Achievement Award is given annually to the individual who, in the judgment of the Association’s Executive Committee, has done the most to improve the standards, image and quality of the office of Notary Public. Previous recipients of the Award include legislators, governors, secretaries of state, attorneys general, Notary program administrators and law school deans.

Named in honor of former California Secretary of State March Fong Eu, the Award was conceived in 1979 and presented to Eu that year for her extraordinary leadership in spearheading enactment of progressive Notary reform legislation, despite opposition from powerful lobbies who preferred lower notarial standards. Today, the March Fong Eu Achievement Award goes to honorees whose efforts led to creation or implementation of a new law, program or policy with a significant beneficial impact on the Notary office.


The 2018 March Fong Eu Achievement Award Recipient is Bob Murphy
For making Notaries Public more trusted and valuable, and for pioneering the mobile Notary profession across the United States.

View Past March Fong Eu Achievement Award Recipients →