Notary Bulletin Oregon Notaries Can Now Charge $10 Fees By NNA Staff on February 01, 2010 in Laws & Regulations Oregon’s Secretary of State has revised the state’s statutes to allow Notaries to charge higher fees, increasing the allowable charge for most notarial acts to $10. The new administrative rule raises the fees Notaries may charge for acknowledgments, verifications, signature witnessings, copy certifications and protests to $10, and for administering an oath or affirmation without a signature to $10, and removes the fees a Notary may charge for taking a deposition and for any other notarial act for which a fee is not specified. Additionally, the Secretary of State issued an administrative rule clarifying that Notaries may accept a U.S. Passport Card as a satisfactory form of identification. Few states allow Notaries to charge a maximum of $10, and a handful of others do not specify a maximum fee. Below is a listing of those states: States and territories allowing $10 fees: California, Florida, Guam, Michigan, New Hampshire, South Dakota, Washington. States and jurisdictions with no specified fees: Alaska, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Puerto Rico. Email Share Leave a Comment Required * Name * Email *(for verfication purposes only) Comment * Enter the text shown in this image *(text is case sensitive)All comments are reviewed and if approved, will display.